My Review of Byer Easy Cot

Originally submitted at REI

The Byer Easy cot sets up in under a minute for convenient use around camp and at home.

Easy it is

By Jimmy Mc from Nashville, TN on 7/31/2011
5out of 5

Pros: Easy to set up, Easy to pack

Best Uses: Spare bed, Campgrounds, Road Trips

Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational

What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist

Was this a gift?: No

This is a nice, long cot. I’m 6’2″ and weigh 225# and it suits me fine. I wanted a spare bed I could use for sleeping in a cooler part of the house when the whether gets so hot – without having to push the AC to overdrive. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to set up. It literally just unfolds.
At first I was concerned that the only directions were a sort of pictograph on the box, but as it turns out it was that easy. Took about 30 seconds to remove it from the box and another 30 seconds or so to unfold it. I’ve only slept on it two nights but so far no complaints. Sagging so far is minimal, especially considering my dimensions. If I were going to use it for extended periods I’d probably want some kind of covering or padding for the cot as the fabric – while sturdy – might be a little rough over time.
The construction appears to be fairly rugged, including the stitching on the stress points where the fabric contacts the frame. I’ll probably start partially collapsing it each day just to reduce some of the stress on the stitching.
To folks that think it’s bulky, well, not for what it is. If you want a cot you can backpack this isn’t designed for that, though with folded dimensions of about 6″x6″x33″ and weighing about 20+ pounds it’s pretty easy to toss into the back seat of the car or stash in a closet.
It wasn’t available in my local REI for me to try or I would have bought it sooner had I known how pleased I would be.
Note about set-up: If your upper body agility, or your back, is a concern, try unfolding it upside down, then turning it over.

(legalese)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

