Of Simple Shacks & Autumn Afternoons

Recently I received my copy of Humble Homes, Simple Shacks by Derek “Deek” Diedricksen. His blog, Relaxshax (link appears in my blogroll) is one of my favorites. The book itself is a piece of work. Derek has done all of the work himself, including assembling the book and handling the orders. What I found especially interesting was how much I enjoyed the process of placing the request for the book and then waiting for its arrival.
I elected to go simply mail-order and I sent my check with a request for a copy of the book and then waited for its arrival. I could have saved some time had I done the on-line route but given the nature of this blog – and Derek’s book – I elected to take the simpler, even if slower, route. I was not disappointed.
I was reminded of how much fun it is to anticipate an event. I knew it would take a number of days for the check to reach him, to clear the bank, then a few more for the book to arrive to me. I found myself looking forward to the arrival of the mail each day. And when I saw the package I felt a bit rejuvenated. It was a perfect October afternoon and I sat outside and savored simply thumbing through the pages. (There’s too much content on each page – both artistically and textually – to do otherwise in one sitting.) The book itself looks and reads like a graphic novel, for lack of a better term. It’s both entertaining, enlightening and even inspiring.
Thanks Derek. Keep up the good work.

My book is here; my book is here!

Lotta cool content . . .

Yours truly, considering the possibilities.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Of Simple Shacks & Autumn Afternoons

  1. relaxshax says:

    Hey Mister Jimmy…

    Thanks so much for the kind words- glad the book made it to you safely- I appreciate you spreadin’ the word and blogging about the book, and may you get some ideas, inspiration, or a “kick” out of it at the least. Mucho thanks!
    -Derek “Deek” Diedricksen
    Relaxshacks.com

  2. Pingback: Tiny House Book News, AND “Cleaning House” part 2- another tiny house/small home photo gallery « Relaxshax's Blog

  3. Pingback: [Relax Shax] Tiny House Book News, AND “Cleaning House” part 2- another tiny house/small home photo gallery hatnohat

Leave a Reply

